Home



1.Love and Hope

You asked me, my young one, as we sat by the sea

What life had brought to my heart.

“Was it joy, was it sadness,

Was it laughter and tears?

The kindness of lovers?

The friendship through years?

Or the dreams of a life

In a heaven above?”

“It was none of these things,

It was hope,

It was love.”


 
 2.We Need Your Heart To Sing It's Song
 

Don’t cry too long

My little one

The world is waiting on your smile

Don’t listen to the midnight whispers

It is their way

To make things dark

Don’t feel

That other hearts are hardened

Sometimes they need

To take a rest

Don’t wish that you were someone

Other

This life is only meant to test.

Don’t think

That you are somehow chosen

For all the trials in the world

Don’t cry too long

My little urchin

We need your heart to sing

Its song.


3. Today Is Going To Be A Great Day

“Today is going to be a great day,” said the little boy
 Whose mother unexpectedly opened her eyes
 Today is going to be a great day, smiled the old man
 As the pain in his hands stopped for a time
 Today is going to be a great day, laughed the young mum
 As she picked up the money from the street
 Today is going to be a great day, thought the doctor
 As he put the diamond ring back in his pocket
 Ready for the big question
 Today is going to be a great day, chuckled the large man
 At the bus-stop, with the sun on his face
 Who was just happy to be alive,
 Today is going to be a great day.

 
4. One Day, My Friend, We'll Soar

One day, my friend, we’ll soar,

Far, high above these streets of darkened hearts,

We’ll tilt our wings to freedom,

And scrape the highest of the skies.

One day, my friend, we’ll soar,

Up there, all wrapped in splendid sunlight,

Riding azure blue jet streams,

Breathless with that rush of life and air.

One day, my friend, we’ll soar,

So let me take your broken body upon my back,

And both of us shall climb in painless flight,

I’ll let you rest up there, but promise I’ll be back.

  

bobby stevenson 2017
Leave a Reply

